Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates

About Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates, born June 16, 1938 in Lockport, New York, is an American writer, poet, novelist, short story writer, playwright and essayist. She has also published several crime novels under the pseudonyms Rosamond Smith and Lauren Kelly.
She has won numerous awards for her writing, including: the National Book Award, for her novel Them (1969), two O. Henry Awards, the National Humanities Medal and the Jerusalem Prize (2019) as well as the Cino-Del World Prize -Duca in 2020. Her novels Reflections in troubled water (1992), Corky (1994) and Blonde (2000) and her collections of short stories The Wheel of Love (1970) and Lovely, Dark, Deep: Stories (2014) have each was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. She also aroused controversy on several occasions, notably with her novel of children's and youth literature entitled Sexy (2005), which tackled head-on the themes of adultery, pedophilia and homosexuality.

Browse all poems and texts published on Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.