Nikki Grimes

Nikki Grimes

About Nikki Grimes

Nikki Grimes (born October 20, 1950, Harlem, New-York) is an African-American poet and writer. She is the author of numerous award-winning books for children and young adults, including Garvey’s Choice (2016), Poems in the Attic (2015), Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope (2008), which was a New York Times bestseller and a NAACP Image Award winner; and Bronx Masquerade (2002). Grimes' memoir Ordinary Hazards (Wordsong) was released in 2019 which received the ALA Michael Printz Honor, the ALA Robert F. Sibert Honor, and the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Award for Nonfiction. She has received many honors, including the 2003 Coretta Scott King Award, given each year by the American Library Association to an African-American author and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions; the 2006 National Council of Teachers of English Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children; the 2016 Virginia Hamilton Literary Award; and the 2017 Wilder Medal (now known as the Children’s Literature Legacy Award).
Browse all poems and texts published on Nikki Grimes

Nikki Grimes Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.