Dean Young

Dean Young

About Dean Young

Dean Young (1955 Columbia, Pennsylvania - 2022 Cincinnati, Ohio) was an American poet who was the Poet Laureate for Texas in 2014. In the poetic lineage of John Ashbery, Frank O'Hara, and Kenneth Koch and often cited as a second-generation New York School poet, Young has also derived influence and inspiration from the work of André Breton, Paul Éluard, and the other French Surrealist poets. He published many books of poetry including Strike Anywhere (1995), winner of the Colorado Prize for Poetry; Skid (2002), finalist for the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Elegy on Toy Piano (2005), finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Primitive Mentor (2008), shortlisted for the International Griffin Poetry Prize; Bender: New and Selected Poems (2012); Shock by Shock (2015); and his last book Solar Perplexus published in 2019 by Copper Canyon Press. He has also written a book on poetics, The Art of Recklessness: Poetry as Assertive Force and Contradiction (2010).

Browse all poems and texts published on Dean Young

Dean Young Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.