Denis Johnson

Denis Johnson

About Denis Johnson

Denis Johnson, born July 1, 1949 in Munich, West Germany and died May 24, 2017, was an American poet and author. He is best known for his short stories collection Jesus' Son (1992) and his novel Tree of Smoke (2007), which won the National Book Award. He has been writing since the age of nineteen. He published his first collection of poetry The Man Among Seals, in 1969 and is the author of five collections of poetry including Inner Weather (1976), The Incognito Lounge (1982), The Veil (1987), and The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations Millennium General Assembly: Poems Collected and New (1995). He also published nine novels, two books of short stories, two collections of plays, and one book of reportage. In 1981, he won the National Poetry Series for The Incognito Lounge: And Other Poems.
Born to an American intelligence service diplomat, Denis Johnson lived before his eighteenth birthday between Japan, Germany, Manila and the United States. He completed his graduate studies at the University of Iowa. His work has been awarded numerous distinctions including the National Endowment for the Arts (1983) and the Whiting Writer's Award (1987).
Denis Johnson died in California on May 24, 2017 from liver cancer at the age of 67.

Browse all poems and texts published on Denis Johnson
All the modern verse plays, they're terrible; they're mostly about the poetry. It's more important that the play is first.

Denis Johnson Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.