Kathleen Rooney

Kathleen Rooney

About Kathleen Rooney

Kathleen Rooney is an American poet. She is the author of nine books of poetry, fiction and nonfiction include the national best-seller Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk (St. Martin's Press 2017/Picador 2018), The Listening Room: A Novel of Georgette and Loulou Magritte (Spork Press, 2018), O, Democracy! (Fifth Star Press, 2014) and Cher Ami and Major Whittlesey: A Novel (Penguin, 2020). Her novel in poems Robinson Alone (Gold Wake Press), was the winner of the Eric Hoffer Award for Poetry. Her poetry collection Where Are the Snows, winner of the X. J. Kennedy Prize, is forthcoming from Texas Review Press in fall 2022, and her novel From Dust to Stardust will be published by Lake Union next year. Her first book is Reading with Oprah: The Book Club That Changed America (University of Arkansas Press, 2005), and her first poetry collection, Oneiromance (an epithalamion) won the 2007 Gatewood Prize from the feminist publisher Switchback Books.
Her reviews and criticism have appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Poetry Foundation website, The New York Times Book Review, BITCH, Allure, The Chicago Review of Books, The Chicago Tribune, The Paris Review, The Los Angeles Review of Books, The Nation and elsewhere.

Browse all poems and texts published on Kathleen Rooney

Kathleen Rooney Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.