Robin Robertson

Robin Robertson

About Robin Robertson

Robin Robertson is a Scottish poet and publisher. His first volume of poetry, A Painted Field, won the 1997 Forward Prize for Best First Collection and the Scottish First Book of the Year Award. Other Robertson’s books of poetry are Slow Air (2002), Swithering (2006), The Wrecking Light (2010), Hill of Doors (2013), Sailing the Forest: Selected Poems (2014), The Long Take (2018) and Grimoire (2020). His poem At Roane Head won the award for Best Single Poem. This poem is included in his fourth collection, The Wrecking Light (2010), a volume shortlisted for the 2010 Forward Prize, the Costa Poetry Award and the T.S. Eliot Prize. His poems poems have their roots in the rich tradition of Greek myths and Celtic folklore. They evoke, in forceful and melodious language, the arresting landscape and nature of north-east Scotland. He worked as an editor at Penguin Books and Secker and Warburg before becoming poetry and novels editor at Jonathan Cape Publishing Company. His poetry is published in numerous journals, including London Review of Books, and anthologies.
He has received a number of awards, including the Petrarca-Preis, the Cholmondeley Award, the E.M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and all three Forward Prizes. The Long Take won the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, the Goldsmiths Prize for innovative fiction and the Roehampton Poetry Prize and was the first poem to be shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 2018.

Browse all poems and texts published on Robin Robertson

Robin Robertson Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.