Fred Moten

Fred Moten

About Fred Moten

Fred Moten (born in Las Vegas in 1962) is an African-American poet, cultural theorist, and scholar. He has published numerous poetry collections, including The Little Edges, The Feel Trio, B Jenkins, and Hughson’s Tavern. In 2016, he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Stephen E. Henderson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Poetry by the African American Literature and Culture Society. Moten's work The Feel Trio (2014), named after Cecil Taylor's trio with William Parker and Tony Oxley, was awarded the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was a poetry finalist for the National Book Award. He also received a Foundation for Contemporary Arts Roy Lichtenstein Award (2018). In 2020, Moten was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship for - [c]reating new conceptual spaces to accommodate emerging forms of Black aesthetics, cultural production, and social life-. One of his most well-known works is a series of essays he published with Stefano Harney in a book called The Undercommons.
Moten is Professor of Performance Studies at New York University and Distinguished Professor Emeritus at University of California, Riverside.

Browse all poems and texts published on Fred Moten

Fred Moten Poems

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.