Galway Kinnell

Galway Kinnell

About Galway Kinnell

Galway Kinnell (born February 1, 1927 —died October 28, 2014) is an American poet. He was Poet Laureate of Vermont from 1989 to 1993. An admitted follower of Walt Whitman, Kinnell rejects the idea of seeking fulfillment by escaping into the imaginary world. His best loved and most anthologized and famous poems are St. Francis and the Sow, The Bear, Wait and After Making Love We Hear Footsteps. Kinnell published 18 books of poetry, including Strong Is Your Hold (2006); A New Selected Poems (2000), a finalist for the National Book Award; Imperfect Thirst (1996); When One Has Lived a Long Time Alone (1990); Selected Poems (1982), for which he received both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award; and Mortal Acts, Mortal Words (1980).
In addition to his works of poetry and his translations, Kinnell published one novel (Black Light, 1966) and one children's book (How the Alligator Missed Breakfast, 1982).
Kinnell died of leukemia in October 28, 2014 at his home in Sheffield, Vermont at the age of 87.

Browse all poems and texts published on Galway Kinnell

Galway Kinnell Poems

Syndicate content

Popular Poets of All Time

  • Robert Frost
    Robert Frost
    was an American poet.
  • Maya Angelou
    Maya Angelou
    was an African-American poet.
  • Pablo Neruda
    Pablo Neruda
    Nobel prize chilean poet.